Paleo Cookies? Can it be?

Last night I felt the creative juices flowing and decided to try out a new recipe. I was not craving a sweet, but I had a cookie recipe that was burning a hole in my pocket and I just had to give it a try! I found an easy Snickerdoodle recipe on the old trusty and true Pinterest that sounded simple and delicious. With fall in the air, the idea of this sweet cinnamon goodness sounded too good to be true. Paleo cookies? I heard that finding a recipe that was tasty could be difficult to do, so I approached this with a slight twinge of caution. But I forged ahead and boy am I glad that I did! The recipe came from Deliciously Organic and you can find a direct link to the recipe here. The process was simple in that you combined all the dry ingredients first along with the cashew butter and mixed together, then added the ghee, or butter, and honey until combined well. The resulting dough is slightly crumbly but sticks together well when you roll them into a ball. The recipe says it makes 12 cookies, but I guess I was being a little too stingy with my dough because I could have easily made 14 – 16 cookies. I went ahead and added more dough to the other cookies and still ended up with around 13. I then rolled the dough, as I made the balls, in the cinnamon and sugar mixture, and then placed on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Next time, I think I will flatten out the balls a little so they will not roll around the pan and will look a little more like the samples (even though the recipes does not call for this). I baked them in an oven at 350 degrees for 12 minutes like the recipe said, but next time I will take them out at 11 minutes. I did check them at 11, and I thought they looked a little light, and then when I took them out at 12 they looked a little dark. But overall they tasted delicious and did not taste burned at all. Here are the finished results:

Snickerdoodle Dough  Snickerdoodle Ready to Bake Finished Result

Hopefully as I grow more confident and learn these new ingredients such as almond flour, coconut flour, and various sweeteners I can venture out and eventually make my own recipes. I would love to do that since I come from a long line of home cooks and sweets are our specialties, although our main dishes and sides are nothing to turn your nose at either. Thank for checking out the recipes that I find and are able to bring to light that you may be missing out on. I hope I can be your guinea pig as I explore this new Paleo world.

Oh, and little update! It is the small victories! As of today I have lost another 2 lbs. and that makes it a total of 14 in about three weeks. Let me share a little with you. And this is difficult for me to write.

In September of 2015 I weighed the most I have ever weighed in my entire life. I went in July, when I actually weighed less, and checked on weight loss surgery. Unfortunately, because I weighed below the weight limit the past two years I did not qualify until 2017. Well, that did not sit well with me. I could handle waiting until 2016, but for another entire year? No, that was just not acceptable. Many people get into the Paleo lifestyle for different reasons. Autoimmune disorders is just one reason. For me it is weight loss. Plus the added benefits such as sleeping better and other side effects. I have a lot of trouble with depression, a sleep disorder, anxiety disorder just to name a few things going on. I am on a lot of medication just to make it through the day. I pretty much take something to wake up and something to go to sleep. I am lucky in the respect that my sugar is great, my blood pressure is great, my cholesterol is perfect (the good and the bad), all lab work is good… it is just my weight that is a problem. I think a lot of the issue comes not just from eating poorly but also side effects from medication over the years. But eating the wrong way has not helped. My therapist has been suggesting the Paleo lifestyle for over a year, but I just did not feel that I could commit to it just yet. I tried Atkins and loved it, but gave it up at Christmas. This time around, however, I am going to stick with this. I am going to make my OCD work for me as my doctor said. I am going to plan meals for the holidays that I can eat and the entire family can find tasty and enjoy as well. I am hoping that I can lose the weight on my own and not need surgery. This is probably going to be a longer road, but it will be totally worth it. I hope you can be along for the ride as I take it.

~ A

Leave a Reply

