Creamy Mushroom Goodness… and Cake!

I hope you all had a spooktacular Halloween! Sorry, could not help myself, I am a former teacher after all! Mine was busy but not really all that eventful. I watched football on Halloween day and evening, did some cleaning and organizing, and tried out a couple of new recipes. I wanted to get more reading done, and I did do a little reading, but in the South, we are all about college football. So I could not help myself from watching it all day long.

I wanted to go to the grocery store on Friday evening, but with the Ole Miss crowd being in town for the Auburn game, it was a madhouse. I just skipped the grocery store on Friday and thought, “Maybe Sunday.” Saturday, however, I woke up wide awake at 5:00 am. Just so you know, it is the perfect time to go to Wal-Mart and buy groceries! I usually go to Kroger or Publix, but they did not open until later, so Wal-Mart it was. There were not a lot of people in the store, and when I checked out, I learned they were all trying to check out too, at the only register that was open! Ugh, Wal-Mart.

I decided this week I was going to make Sticky Teriyaki Chicken Wings, Cream of Mushroom Soup, and a Paleo Coconut Pound Cake that I found a recipe for online. When I got home from the store, and I got ready to make the wings, I ran into a problem. I bought whole chicken wings and actual drumsticks, not the sections and drummettes. So frustrating. So, into the freezer they went for my mom to use later. I did get to the grocery store on Sunday though and find the items I need for the chicken wings, so I am looking forward to that.

I did all my cooking on Sunday evening, and boy was it delicious! First up, Cream of Mushroom Soup. I got this recipe from Juli Bauer’s Paleo Cookbook. Here is a picture of the one I used:

Juli Bauer's Paleo Cookbook

You can see she is eating the wings I plan on making later on the cover! And boy, do they look and sound good. For the soup, I first sautéed garlic in a pot for a few minutes and added chopped onion. When that was translucent, I added the mushrooms and thyme and let them cook until they were reduced by half. Here is a picture of the beginnings of soup:

Cream of Mushroom Soup Beginning

Looks good, right? I then added tapioca starch to chicken broth and added it to the pot. I also added heavy cream (although she said you could use almond or coconut milk) because I had it on hand and did not want it to go bad. Finally, I added a bay leaf, and a little salt as well. I let all of that cook for about 15 minutes and stirred it about twice along the way. Here is the final result:

Cream of Mushroom Soup

Delicious and perfect for a cool autumn or winter day. I cannot wait to add this to my go-to soups recipes. It was easy to make, did not take long at all, and tasted so much better than anything you could ever find in a can. I highly recommend this to everyone! If you have not read Juli’s cookbook, I cannot recommend it enough.

The last thing I made yesterday evening was a Paleo Coconut Pound Cake. I was not really making it because I just had to have something sweet. I actually needed a treat to take to a small group, and was testing the recipe to see if I wanted to use that. I had looked at several recipes online and found this one to have outstanding reviews, and it came from a reliable source. I found the CrossFit Santa Cruz Central’s Coconut Pound Cake Recipe by chance on, guess where… Pinterest! It was easy to make and tasted wonderful. The only change I made, I did not have coconut extract like I thought, so I used vanilla along with the orange. Other than the exchange of vanilla for coconut extract, I followed the recipe exactly. Here is what it looked like when I was finished:

Paleo Pound Cake

That is a slice of my Pound Cake with a little coconut cream on top. So yummy! I cannot wait to share this recipe with all of my friends.

I hope you enjoy these recipes as much as I have, and I hope you have a wonderful Monday! This month is #bloglikecrazy, so I will try and post every day in November (except for yesterday, sorry, guys). It may just be a tidbit, or another yummy recipe. I will be going to the beach next week, so the posts may be short and sweet, but I will try my best to keep posting.

Have a wonderful Monday, everyone!

~ A

Leave a Reply

