World’s Best Chicken? Maybe Top 5

I hope you are all having a beautiful Friday! Mine is going wonderfully so far. I have had a good morning, I am getting a lot done, and I have a wonderful new recipe to share with y’all! I have actually got two recipes, but I will post the other one this weekend or Monday. I do not want to do it all at one time! How is everyone’s 2016 gone so far? Mine has been great, and I look forward to all the possibilities that are coming. I have wonderful news about my new year up to now! I weighed myself on Wednesday to see where I was starting out in the new year. I am getting back on Paleo, and wanted to see my starting weight. I was really nervous. “I am probably back up around my original weight,” I thought. With the beach, and Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s, it just seemed inevitable that I was going to be back up to my highest weight or more. I anxiously stepped on the scales, and imagine my surprise when I weighed 23 lbs. less! I could not believe it! I had actually lost weight since my last weigh-in! Joy of all joys! I was so shocked that I weighed myself three times to make sure it was accurate, and then weighed myself again when I got home from work! But, it was right! I cannot tell you how happy I was. This makes me feel like I can lose the weight and keep it off. It makes me feel like I am a step closer towards my goal.

My sister would like to lose 30 lbs. by June. I think that is possible. That is just a little over 6 lbs. a month. If I add exercise, I feel that I can reach that goal. That would put me not too far from my first main goal. One thing that I think will help, is that I am going to do The Whole30 for the first time this month. For those of you who are unfamiliar with this idea, it is described as “Paleo on crack.” It is very similar to Paleo, but much stricter. There is no baking or making treats out of coconut sugar,  honey, or maple syrup to exchange for the treats you might normally eat. No, this is whole food eating. Eating clean. Eating without any kind of sugar at all. I am a little nervous because I am so limited on what I will actually eat. But, I think it can be done. The recipe I am sharing today is Paleo friendly, but not Whole30. It has maple syrup in it, so that is a no go. But, I am excited. I have a friend who has already said that she will do this with me, and that makes me feel better. I made a recipe last night that was Whole30 compliant, so I know one yummy thing that I can eat. I plan on making it again next week, so that makes me feel better. I will share that recipe tomorrow or Monday. We will just see when I am able to get back on here.

Today’s recipe is called “The World’s Best Chicken.” I will give in and say it is maybe Top 5 material. It tastes a little like Chick-Fil-A nuggets without the breading for those of you in the South. It is slightly sweet, but not totally sweet. It also required very little cleanup, prep time, and ingredients. I was able to mix everything in a small measuring cup, use a spoon to mix it, and pour it over in my baking dish. There is no marinating, so you do not have to do this hours in advance. I literally came home, whipped up the ingredients, poured it over my chicken, and put it right in the oven. So quick and easy.

Here is the recipe and the instructions. I found this on Rachel Schultz’s website for the recipe The World’s Best Chicken. The Recipe is as follows:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1/2 cup Dijon mustard

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 Tbsp. red wine vinegar

salt and pepper

fresh rosemary

Mix the mustard, syrup, and vinegar together. Pour over the chicken in the baking dish. Salt and pepper the chicken. She states to generously pepper the chicken, so I did exactly that. I baked this at 425 degrees for 40 minutes. You can add the rosemary to the chicken before you eat.

Note:  I forgot all about the rosemary and it was delicious. Also, I could not find the Dijon mustard no matter how hard I tried, so I substituted whole grain mustard. It was just as yummy!

Here are some pictures that show just how yummy it was. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

~ A

Chicken

Chicken

 

 

Leave a Reply

